All Together now


The Red Cross says fewer Americans have responded to the crisis in Japan than those who did following the earthquake in Haiti and the Indian Ocean Tsunami in 2004.

That included me, until a few moments ago.

Like many Americans, I’m pretty certain Japan, one of the largest economies in the world, is capable of taking care of its own. As chaotic and painful as it is now and most likely will be in the days, weeks, and months to come; the government will provide the essential food, water, and shelter.

But I contributed to the Red Cross after hearing stories from survivors in Haiti, in Indonesia, and in New Orleans, recalling those moments, when climbing from the rubble of what used to be their homes, they saw the extended hand and waiting face of a Red Cross volunteer.

Not a government agency, but a face, sent by other ordinary people who wanted to help.

The survivors say they felt better knowing people cared.

My ten-dollar text is my way of saying “I’m thinking about you. I’d be there in person if I could, but I’d probably just get in the way. So I’m sending these folks with the Red Cross pins on their lapels.  I’ve told them to take care of you. We’ll hook up later, when things get back to normal.”

It’s more than money. It’s saying, “You’re not alone. We’re all in this together. 

Ten bucks.  You’ll drop that when it’s your turn to spring for donuts at the office.

Text REDCROSS 90999 to give ten dollars. It will show up on your phone bill.

There are other ways to help. Check out News Links on KNDU KNDO. com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What are you thinking?

