A Starting Point


The Tuesday after Labor Day feels like a transition, a “start.” Summer vacation has ended and you start back to work. The kids –and their teachers—start back to class. Football season kicks off. I notice the leaves of the poplars have started to change; now they flutter gold in the shorter days.

And did it feel a little chilly to you this morning?falltime 2011 004

As you start your autumn, I admit there is a restlessness within me that I won’t be there with you. For six years you allowed me to be on your TV in the morning while you got ready for work, rustled the kids out of bed, cleaned up whatever the cat threw up or dragged in overnight. I will miss sharing the news with you, but I won’t lie to you (I never have). I don’t miss the alarm going off  at 2:44 in the morning. When you no longer have to get up when you’re supposed to, you will love it. If you have earned your retirement, you certainly know what I mean when I say it feels so liberating to start my day not when I have to, but when I darn well feel like it.

Sure, I still get up at the crack of dawn to work on the novel, but for me, sunrise is sleeping in! At mid morning I take a break from writing. The dogs get their walk, the lawn might get mowed, and then I’m back to the book for another few hours.  I’m shooting to finish SALAD DAYS before the end of the year.

Will a publisher print it? I don’t know, but I’m following my passion. And that’s a start.

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “A Starting Point

  1. Peg jones

    Its nice to know you are doing what you love 🙂 although i miss seeing you in mornings … Thank you for the updates
    Enjoy your day

  2. Anonymous

    I’ve enjoyed your work for many years and looking forward to your book. If the writing in your book presents like the writing in your blog it will be very well received. Happy for you and your pups!

  3. donna

    good for you Kevin! when I first retired ( way too early) I was bored bored bored. so I painted my house and did the dishes over and over again. Then all of a sudden it hit me that I wasn’t needing to drive from eburg to Yakima every morning at 6 am and I started to enjoy my time off! now..10 years later I still feel that ‘freedom’ of not having to do a DARNED thing all day if I didn’t want to.

  4. Marla

    Still missing your quick wit in the mornings, but retirement sounds devine and I’m sure the dogs are happy to have you home and at their beck and call all day long!

What are you thinking?

